Marathon Training: 1 Week Down, 9 to go!

Leave a comment

November 12, 2012 by Sarah

Before I even begin to give a recap of my training last week, I’d like to clarify something… I am writing about the 10 weeks leading up to the marathon, but I did not just begin my training.  Please do not think this is a starting point.  Refer to the links posted here for a more comprehensive plan.

Okay, now for a recap of week 1!

Monday, 11/5: Circuit training and cross training (bike)

Tuesday, 11/6: Election night workout

I did modify this by doing fewer exercises each time, but it kept me moving.  Lots of burpees, squat jumps, jumping jacks, and crunches!

Wednesday, 11/7: Since it was a rainy day in Philadelphia, I ran at the gym.

5 miles – 45:45, 9:09 pace

I kept it interesting by alternating between a 6.5 pace (for half a mile) and a 6.8 pace (for a quarter mile) on the treadmill for most of the workout.

Thursday, 11/8: Mark and I had a goal of getting a 6-8 mile tempo run in after work and I was not sure the likelihood of that happening. We did it!

7 miles – 1:07:28, 9:38 pace

Friday, 11/9: SWOD and cross training (bike)

Saturday, 11/10: We had a goal to run 10 miles, but we ended up having a super busy day and that did not happen.  We were able to get a 6 mile run in before heading out to dinner, so at least that’s a plus.  6 miles is better than 0 miles!

6 miles – 59:10, 9:51 pace

Sunday, 11/11:  Rest days are important too… I spent the day walking around NYC aspiring to be a Rockette!

There were a few changes to my usual workout routine this week, but I made sure to keep moving.

Weekly mileage: 18 miles
Total mileage: 18 miles

Week 9, here we go!

Are you training for any races right now?  How is your training going?

Leave a Reply

Archives

November 2012
M T W T F S S
    Dec »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Pages

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 50 other followers

Disney World MarathonJanuary 13th, 2013
