2011 Philadelphia Half Marathon

1

November 15, 2012 by Sarah

It is almost race day!  Mark and I are running the Philadelphia Half Marathon on Sunday and I couldn’t be more excited.  This is our second year running this race, and it seemed like the perfect opportunity to give a recap of last year’s race.

Where it all started….

After running the Broad Street 10 mile run (also in Philadelphia) last May, Mark and I decided we should take the plunge and sign up for a half marathon. I was excited, but also very nervous – I wasn’t sure that I could do it.

I was just looking over my training plan from last year and it is crazy to think how much can change in a year.  I am a much stronger, more confident runner now than I was at this time last year. 

A few highlights (and “lowlights”) from my training last year…

  • I had a few problems with my calf muscle towards the beginning of my training.  It literally felt like my muscle was tearing away my leg when I was running and I knew I needed to give it time to rest and heal if I wanted to run the half marathon.  Soon after my calf muscle was better, I was sick and missed another long run.  I was nervous about missing out on some of those long runs, but needed to take care of myself. 
  • I incorporated a lot of yoga and strength training into my training plan, which mostly consisted of P90X DVDs (I didn’t belong to a gym at the time).  This helped me to stay active when I couldn’t get the miles in like I had planned to do.  Now I have a better understanding of the importance of cross training and strength training to running and it is a vital piece of my current training plan.
  • Most weeks I ran 3 times a week and kept between and 10 and 11 minute pace.  My goal was to run around 215 miles in the 12 weeks leading up to race day.  I ran 188 miles, with most of those miles happening in the second half of my training.

 

My plan was to take my training seriously and finish strong. I had a few hiccups with my training as I was getting started, but took care of myself and stuck with it and it got better.  

My overall goal was to complete the race but I also had a few time and performance related goals that I set as the race date was approaching.  I set A, B, C, and D goals in order to push myself while also being realistic.  This is something that I continue to do today, but I think it was especially important since it was my first half marathon.

Here are the goals that I had outlined for the 2011 Philly Half Marathon:

A:  10:00 pace, 2:11 finish time
B:  10:20 pace, 2:16 finish time
C:  11:00 pace, 2:24 finish time
D: 12:00 pace, 2:37 finish time

*My overarching “stretch” goal was to finish under 2:15 and keep a 10:15 pace.

I finished my first half marathon in 2:17:48 and I was thrilled.  Mark and I ran most of the race together (we got split up at mile 10) and had a great time.  We finished strong and I was so proud of our accomplishment.      

 

The road to my first half marathon was a bit rough, but completing that race and celebrating our accomplishment with friends and family was a milestone that I’ll always remember.  I am excited to get back out on that course and see what this year has in store for us!

One thought on “2011 Philadelphia Half Marathon

  1. […] November 26th: Spaghetti Squash Pad Thai (I roasted the spaghetti squash towards the end of last week, but ended up not making […]

Leave a Reply

Archives

November 2012
M T W T F S S
    Dec »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Pages

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 50 other followers

Disney World MarathonJanuary 13th, 2013
