16 miles… Done and done!

2

December 9, 2012 by Sarah

So I ran 16 miles yesterday…. What??

It was tough and it makes me a bit nervous to think about running 10 more on top of it, but I can do it.

I snapped a few pictures about 5 miles into the run…

20121209-070908.jpg

20121209-071110.jpg

I have been trying a run/walk combo where I walk for about 0.10 miles every 3-4 miles. It helps to take a break and shake my legs out when the miles get up there.

I did learn an important lesson yesterday – the value of proper fueling and hydration!

There are water fountains along the trails and paths where we were running yesterday, so I was counting on getting a quick sip of water there. Well… They are turned off for the winter so no water for me! No water meant not wanting to eat the gu I threw in my pocket, so no fueling for me either.

I realize how terrible and dangerous that is when running long distances and I will not make that mistake again!

Here is the breakdown of my run:
– 16 miles in 2:42:47 for an average pace of 10:10 per mile.
– Fastest mile was 9:36 and the slowest mile was 11:25.
– Most miles were done at a pace between 9:50 and 10:05.

I am proud of myself for running 16 miles. I know I have a tough month of marathon training ahead of me, but I can do it!

Are you currently training for any races?
How do you fuel your long runs?

2 thoughts on “16 miles… Done and done!

  1. ahellams says:

    I am currently training for a the Charleston Marathon January 18th. I always fuel with Gu, I did chocolate for like two years and recently made the switch to mandarin orange which I love. I pretty much can’t go on a long run without my water bottle and if I am going on a long run I will go out and drop a water bottle about mid way so I can refill.
    http://www.amazon.com/Nathan-Thermal-Quickdraw-Handheld-22-Ounce/dp/B005VURA1G/ref=sr_1_6?ie=UTF8&qid=1355070729&sr=8-6&keywords=running+water+bottle+nathan
    Hopefully that link works, but thats the one I have used for years and the best part, it has a pocket for gels and a hook for keys!! 🙂
    Good luck with your training!!

    • Sarah says:

      I often use Gu as well – I will have to try the mandarin orange flavor! Thank you for your tips and the link. Good luck to you with your training as well!

Leave a Reply

Archives

December 2012
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Pages

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 50 other followers

Disney World MarathonJanuary 13th, 2013
