2013 Goals

Leave a comment

January 3, 2013 by Sarah

I know a lot of people have mixed feelings about New Year’s Resolutions, but I love them!  Mark and I are definitely goal setters and we take the opportunity every year to reflect on the past year and set goals for the next.  We also have a few 5 year goals that we revisit every year to make sure that our yearly goals are helping us to reach those larger 5 year goals.

Yesterday I mentioned that I gained a little bit of weight over the holidays and my resolution was to lose that weight and get back to my healthier habits. Weight loss is a popular resolution, but to make it happen it is important to set SMART goals.

  • S: Specific
  • M: Measurable
  • A: Attainable
  • R: Realistic
  • T: Timely

When I started running, my goal was to complete the C25k (Couch to 5k) program and run a 5k.  That was realistic which gave me the momentum to stick with it and achieve my goals.  Set yourself up to successfully reach your goals.

My health and fitness goals for 2013 include –

  1. To run a marathon.
  2. Set a new half marathon PR (sub 2:00).
  3. Have fun and enjoy running! (not sure how to measure that one…)
  4. Include strength training 2-3 times a week.
  5. Try at least one new fitness activity.
  6. Reach goal weight of 120 pounds.

A few other goals that I have set for this year include reading at least 1 book a month, blog regularly, and plan a vacation with Mark over the summer.

I just realized that I don’t have a food related goal – maybe I should think about that one…

Lululemon has a cool vision/goal worksheet that I haven’t used yet, but I’m planning to take a look at it this weekend.  Check it out here and let me know what you think.

What are your goals for 2013?

Leave a Reply

Archives

January 2013
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Pages

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 50 other followers

Disney World MarathonJanuary 13th, 2013
