Bikram Yoga and a Lazy Saturday

Leave a comment

January 5, 2013 by Sarah

I love lazy Saturday mornings. Lounging with a cup of coffee and hanging out with the pup and Mark…. it’s the best way to start the weekend!

After enjoying my lazy morning and eating some breakfast, Mark and I decided to check out a hot yoga class. We bought a Groupon a little while ago for 5 Bikram yoga classes but haven’t had a chance to use it while marathon training. Today was the day!

I love yoga, but have never been to a Bikram yoga class before. I grabbed my yoga mat, a towel, and a huge bottle of water and I was off!

I wasn’t quite sure what to wear, but I decided to wear tight running capris and a racerback yoga tank top. People were wearing a variety of clothes – shorts, capris, pants, T-shirts, tank tops, sports bras… you get the idea. My outfit worked for me; be sure to think about what you’ll comfortable getting sweaty and practicing yoga in.

There were a few minutes before class began to get accumulated to the heat before beginning the practice and then the instructor led us through the practice which lasted about an hour and a half. I was a sweaty mess by the end, but it felt great.

Hot yoga is definitely a totally different experience than anything I had ever tried before. As with any yoga practice, it’s important to listen to your body and know your limits, but I found this to be especially true with Bikram yoga. The heat really adds another dimension and you don’t want to overdue it.

After yoga I came home and chugged water while eating an apple and some cheddar cheese – I love the apple and cheddar combo!

Now off for a quick run and then I plan to enjoy the rest of my Saturday with Mark! Enjoy!

***I hope this information is helpful if you are thinking about trying a Bikram yoga class, but remember, they are just my opinions!***

Have you ever tried hot yoga before? What’s your favorite way to spend a Saturday?

Leave a Reply

Archives

January 2013
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Pages

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 50 other followers

Disney World MarathonJanuary 13th, 2013
