Do you believe in magic?

2

January 10, 2013 by Sarah

Today is my last day of work until next Thursday!  Wow… I can’t believe it’s time for Disney and the marathon!!

When Mark and I started tossing around the idea of running the Disney Marathon my Dad kept saying how cool he thought it would be if he were a runner.  He said he used to run in college, but hadn’t run for years.  He mentioned wanting to do the half marathon, but wasn’t sure if he could do it.  He decided to give running a try and see how he felt.  He started slowly and built up his endurance.

He realized he could do it and began to enjoy running.  He decided to sign up for the half marathon and we began to really plan our trip to Disney.  Suddenly, I found myself chatting with my Dad about our favorite running shoes and our latest workouts. Running has given us this shared hobby, something that we can do together.  I am SO proud of my Dad and I can’t wait to cheer for him at the half marathon on Saturday!

My brother and sister heard us talking about Disney and other upcoming races and wanted to get in on the fun.  Several months ago they both started running, following the Couch to 5k (C25k) program.  They are now talking about upcoming races that they’d like to sign up for and some of their running goals.  I am so proud of them too!

I really wanted to brag about my awesome family because I am super proud of them (if you couldn’t tell!) and how far they’ve come.  I also wanted to remind myself to think of them while I’m running the marathon on Sunday – I know they believe in me and they are some of my greatest cheerleaders.  Running a marathon is something I never thought I would do.  By training for this race I have motivated my family to get active, which is really awesome.

My husband and I will get to run our first marathon together after losing over 200 pounds.  We get to share the experience of the race and being in Disney with my Dad, Mark’s parents, and his little sister.  I get to cheer for my Dad as he runs his first half marathon.

magicI guess Disney is pretty magical… I am one lucky runner!

 

2 thoughts on “Do you believe in magic?

  1. Good luck Sarah and Mark. I’ll be thinking of you and sending lots of positive energy to you both from the UK. Love nicki x

Leave a Reply

Archives

January 2013
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Pages

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 50 other followers

Disney World MarathonJanuary 13th, 2013
