Chicken Tikka Masala

1

January 11, 2013 by Sarah

I love chicken tikka masala. It is one of my favorites; unfortunately, it is typically high in fat and calories. I tried making a lighter version of it a few months ago that incorporated cauliflower and used nonfat greek yogurt. It was alright, but not great. Definitely not something that I was itching to make again.

Recently, I spotted a recipe on the Eating Well website for chicken tikka masala and figured I’d give it a try. I decided to make it last weekend for dinner and I am so glad I did – it was great!

I followed the recipe as written with the only substitution being the addition of fire roasted diced tomatoes (instead of regular diced tomatoes). I wasn’t thrilled about using cream in the recipe and thought about using a substitution. Ultimately, I decided to stick with the cream as it was only a small amount per serving.

The recipe was easy to follow and it came together fairly quickly. Since it was the weekend, I took my time in the kitchen but this could easily be used for a weeknight meal. The full recipe can be found on eatingwell.com by clicking here.

I was hoping to serve the chicken tikka masala over my favorite Trader Joe’s quick cook brown basmati rice, but I was all out! Instead I served it with steamed green beans and garlic naan from Trader Joe’s.

20130111-162302.jpg This dish was very flavorful and I couldn’t believe that I was able to make delicious chicken tikka masala at home with fairly easy to find ingredients. It does call for tumeric and garam masala (items that I don’t use regularly), but I was able to find both in the spice section of a large grocery store.

I am not suggesting that this is an authentic chicken tikka masala recipe, but I really enjoyed it and I can’t wait to make it again.

Enjoy!

One thought on “Chicken Tikka Masala

  1. northerngirl says:

    Yum. By the way, I love the TJ’s garlic naan.

Leave a Reply

Archives

January 2013
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Pages

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 50 other followers

Disney World MarathonJanuary 13th, 2013
