What do you do after running a marathon?

Leave a comment

January 18, 2013 by Sarah

We got back from Disney late Wednesday night and I am still exhausted!  I am just trying to survive until the weekend when I can get unpacked and settled in.  I definitely have not been making healthy food choices and although I’ve been walking, my workouts have not consisted of anything more.

I am getting the itch to get back to it but the only problem is, what do you do after running a marathon?

Image

This goal had been on the forefront of my mind for months.  It affected how far and when I run, what I eat, my social calendar, my conversations, and my thoughts.  And now it’s over…

Don’t get me wrong, I am excited to have more flexibility with my workouts and the ability to not make Saturday plans around an 18 mile run, but I feel like something is missing now that I’m no longer working towards the marathon.

That’s life – you set goals and work towards them.  Sometimes you reach your goals and other times you don’t, but either way you set new goals and continue to challenge yourself.

So here is what I’m thinking…

  1. Be strong. I am going to focus on strength training.  I’ll be following a plan that Mark put together for me.  I know I will be lifting heavier weights and using equipment that I’m not so familiar with.  I am ready for the challenge and excited to try something new!
  2. Be Fast.  I am at a place with running that I can cut back on the mileage and focus on speed work.   Fast is a relative term here, but I’m feeling the need for speed!
  3. Be awesome.  Yep, that’s my plan.  I am going to work on a few personal and professional goals – saving money to buy a house (!!!), as well as learning and trying new things.

No matter what, I hope I always make goals and challenge myself to be the best I can be.  So instead of being lost now that the marathon is over, I am going to be proud of my achievement and enjoy what’s to come.  2013 is going to be a great year.

What do you do after running a marathon? Have you ever felt that “Now what?” after achieving a big goal?

Leave a Reply

Archives

January 2013
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Pages

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 50 other followers

Disney World MarathonJanuary 13th, 2013
