Things I love: GymPact

1

January 22, 2013 by Sarah

Mark likes to lovingly tell me that I can sometimes be a bit of a nerd.  Normally his reasoning stems from the fact that I work in public health research and therefore, I find research and numbers to be very interesting.  But it can be interesting and sometimes I discover something super awesome way before him!

Reading an article about behavioral economics and gym attendance is actually how I found out about one of my favorites apps, GymPact.

I started using GymPact over a year ago and I think it is just brilliant!  It was started by two young Harvard grads who had taken a behavioral economics course. They knew the power of financial incentives and their role in increasing/decreasing a desired behavior.  They applied their idea to working out and bam – GymPact was born.  I’m sure there are a few more pieces to the puzzle, but you get the idea…

Sometimes it is hard to get to the gym, but what if you lost $5 every time you missed a workout?  If losing $5 is not enough to get you off the couch (it works for me!), then how about $10 every time you skipped the gym?

With GymPact, you set the parameters – what is your pact and what are the stakes? The pact (the number of times you will work out) can range from 1 to 7 days per week and the stakes (how much you will pay for each missed workout) can range from $5 to $50 a workout.  I personally have mine set at 3 times a week with $5 stakes.

checkin

The pact is met by “checking in” at the gym (done with GPS through the app) or recording a run/walk with RunKeeper, each for at least 30 minutes.  At the end of the week, the money for each missed workout goes into a pot that is divided among those who met their GymPact.  It’s great!

I’m not going to go through all of the logistics here.  For more information, check out the GymPact list of FAQs.

GymPact has helped to keep me on track and gets me to the gym on the days that I would rather relax at home.  So far, I have logged 146 workouts through GymPact and have earned over $80!

Image

A lot of us set New Year’s Resolutions to go to the gym and workout more, but they can be difficult to stick with.  GymPact is a great motivator, especially when those New Year’s Resolutions are starting to lose steam.

Sign up through this link here and you should get $5 in your bank to get started.  I hope it works – let me know if you give it a try!

I was not paid by GymPact to write this post, I just really love it.  Give it a try and hopefully you’ll stick with your goals and make a few extra bucks along the way!

Do you use GymPact?  Would paying for a missed workout motivate you to get to the gym?

One thought on “Things I love: GymPact

  1. AmyS says:

    What a great app- seems simple but keeps you motivated!

Leave a Reply

Archives

January 2013
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Pages

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 50 other followers

Disney World MarathonJanuary 13th, 2013
