Bribing myself with Starbucks

1

January 23, 2013 by Sarah

I’m starting to sound like a broken record…. “It’s too cold out to wake up early” or “It’s too cold to go to the gym before work” or just a defeated “wahhhh.” What’s wrong with me??

Okay, yes it has been super cold the last few days, but come on!  Seriously, I did not want to get out of bed and go to the gym before work this morning.  I asked Mark, hoping that he would give me an easy out and it didn’t work.  He said I should go to the gym.  Boo.

So I stopped trying to think of excuses, got out of bed, and went to the gym.  I told myself if I went to the gym I could stop at Starbucks on my way into work.  Yes, it has come to this.  I am bribing myself.

Starbucks is running a promotion right now with their steel-cut oatmeal, $2 for oatmeal with any beverage purchase.  This is available through January 27th so if you want to give it a try, you still have time.

Image

There are two “flavor” options – fresh blueberry or original.  It is the same steel-cut and rolled oat base with different flavor toppings.  I opted for fresh blueberries and mixed nuts.

ImageWhat’s the verdict?  I thought it was really good!

I liked the blend of steel-cut and rolled oats and the combination of the tart blueberries and crunchy nuts.  On the website, it lists the blueberry variety as coming with agave syrup and the original variety as coming with brown sugar, but I forgot to ask for either.  At first I was bummed since I do like brown sugar on oatmeal, but I enjoyed it just the same.

close up oatmeal

I looked up the nutrition information and wasn’t sure what to expect.  I was pleasantly surprised to find out the oats contained 150 calories, 2.5 g of fat, and 5 g of protein.  This does not include the toppings – the nuts contained 100 calories and 2 g of protein.  Not too bad! Click here for more nutrition information.

So I may have bribed myself to get to the gym this morning, but it worked – and it was delicious!

One thought on “Bribing myself with Starbucks

  1. […] banana oat bar before my workout, Starbucks oatmeal […]

Leave a Reply

Archives

January 2013
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Pages

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 50 other followers

Disney World MarathonJanuary 13th, 2013
