NWM Half Training Plan

4

January 28, 2013 by Sarah

The Nike Women’s Marathon Half in DC is 13 weeks away!  It’s hard to believe that in 13 short weeks it will be the end of April and we will be thinking about spring and summer!

My plan was to start my NWM Half training plan next week – a 12 week training plan has a nice ring to it and it would give me an extra week to be flexible with my workouts.

Well… change of plans!  I LOVE training plans and couldn’t wait another week!

I am much more likely to stick to my workouts when I have a goal and a plan.  Plus, I love the feeling of crossing off a completed workout!  So because I am super impatient, here is my 13 week half marathon training plan:half-marathon-training

ST=Strength Training and XT=Cross Training

My goal is strength train 3 times a week.  That is a big commitment for me, but I feel confident that I can do it!  I am focusing on lifting heavier weights and doing what is called powerlifting.  For my program, I’m doing 5 sets of 5 reps of different exercises using a barbell (squats, bench press, overhead press, barbell row, and deadlifts).  I really like it so far!

Each week will follow the same general outline:

  • Monday: strength training and a 2-3 mile run (speed work)
  • Tuesday: yoga
  • Wednesday: strength training and a 2-3 mile easy run
  • Thursday: 5 mile run (tempo or hills)
  • Friday: strength training and cross training (bike, elliptical… anything that’s not running)
  • Saturday: long run!
  • Sunday: rest

 

Are you currently training for anything? Do you like following a training plan?

4 thoughts on “NWM Half Training Plan

  1. […] started my NWM half training plan today – strength training and a 2 mile […]

  2. Bonnie says:

    I am running that race too! I am already excited.
    I also love a good training plan. I really need to have one. Otherwise, I completely over-analyze everything and end up not making progress. Looks like you have a good one!

  3. […] Marathon Half DC last week.  I am really looking forward to this race and I’m happy to have a training plan to keep me motivated (which I need with the cold […]

Leave a Reply

Archives

January 2013
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Pages

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 50 other followers

Disney World MarathonJanuary 13th, 2013
