Tracking Meals and Counting Calories

3

January 30, 2013 by Sarah

This is not what I wanted to be writing, but here we go… I need to start counting calories again.  I thought I could keep track of my meals, eat a balanced diet, and workout to reach my weight loss goals; Unfortunately, it’s just not working for me.

My weight has been up and down the past few weeks – up 1.5 pounds, down 2 pounds, up 3 pounds, and so on.  This week I am back to 137 and enough is enough.  I am going to start tracking calories again and tighten up my diet.

Maybe my break-up with counting calories meant I didn’t measure portion sizes as regularly.  I’ve been doing this for over 2 years – I know what a tablespoon of peanut butter looks like, right?

Maybe it meant that I was eating too much throughout the day – underestimating the amount of calories I was eating at each meal.

Maybe I didn’t think about how a few extra calories here and there could really add up and lead to a 10-15 pound weight gain.

Maybe I can’t tell when I’m actually hungry as well as I thought I could.

Whatever the case may be, I’m at the highest weight that I have been at in over a year and a half. I have made so much progress and I’m not happy with where I am right now.

So I’m going to start counting calories again.  Counting calories is how I lost weight the first time around – going from 183 pounds to 122 pounds.  I know I can do it and I know it works, but when do you stop counting calories?  I don’t want to count calories forever, right?

I’m not going to beat myself up over this.  While I track my calories, I am going to focus on those hunger cues and make sure I’m eating when I’m hungry.  I’m going to cut back on snacks and make sure I’m eating lots of vegetables.  I’m going to eat a balanced diet and focus on portion sizes.

I will be doing all of this through MyFitnessPal, which I absolutely love.  If you’d like to follow me, my username is run_sarah_run.  I think it is a great site, and their app makes it easy to keep track of meals while on the go. One of my favorite features is calculating the nutrition info for recipes – I love to cook so this is so helpful!

Alright… let’s do this.

Do you track calories currently or have you counted calories in the past?  Do you use MyFitnessPal?  If so, what’s your username? 🙂

3 thoughts on “Tracking Meals and Counting Calories

  1. Kristen R. says:

    I have the same struggle! I’ll be really good at tracking calories using MyfitnessPal, then I stop and think I’ve got it down, and those couple of pounds come back. And stay. I know I’m eating more than I realize, so I just need to make logging meals a long-term habit for a while and see if it makes a bigger difference. I like to cook, as well, and hadn’t realized I could track the nutritional info of my recipes. Thanks for mentioning that!

  2. […] DietBet game.  I have had a bit of a slow start, but have been tracking my calories with MyFitnessPal which I think will help me to reach my […]

Leave a Reply

Archives

January 2013
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Pages

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 50 other followers

Disney World MarathonJanuary 13th, 2013
