Half Marathon Training: Week 1

3

February 4, 2013 by Sarah

I officially started training for the Nike Women’s Marathon Half DC last week.  I am really looking forward to this race and I’m happy to have a training plan to keep me motivated (which I need with the cold weather!).

My training last week went well.  I did a little bit of everything – strength training, running, yoga – and I’m feeling good!

nwm-wdc-week1

  • Monday, 1/28: 20 minutes of strength training; Run 2 miles (18:38, 9:19 pace)
  • Tuesday, 1/29: Rest/Sick Day
  • Wednesday, 1/30: 25 minutes of strength training; 10 minutes of cross-training (stair-stepper)

stairs

This thing is a bit boring – I was surprised how sweaty I was at the end of 10 minutes!

  • Thursday, 1/31: 4 windy, cold miles (39:49, 9:56 pace)

prerun

Pre-run photo – first time wearing my Disney Marathon shirt for a run!  This was a super windy and chilly run, but it felt good to get outside.  So many of my runs have been on a treadmill recently!

  • Friday, 2/1: 25 minutes of strength training; 25 minutes of cross-training (15 minutes on the bike, 10 minutes on the elliptical)
  • Saturday, 2/2: Hot Yoga (90 minutes)

This is my 2nd time trying out Bikram yoga.  I enjoy it because I challenge myself in a new and different way.  If you are in the Philadelphia area, I recommend checking out Bikram Yoga University City – it’s a great studio!

  • Sunday, 2/3: 5 miles on the treadmill (46:50, 9:22 pace)

It was cold(ish) so I decided to run on the treadmill.  I am ready to get outside this week – I’ve missed it!

Weekly Mileage: 11 miles; Total Mileage: 11 miles

I’m aiming for 15 miles in week 2, I’m ready for it!

Here’s a little Monday motivation for you, courtesy of FitSugar.

monday_motivation

Are you training for a race right now?  How’s your training going? 

Happy Monday – make it a good one! 🙂

3 thoughts on “Half Marathon Training: Week 1

  1. Congrats on signing up for your 2nd marathon! I love all the different types of exercise you’ve put into your training program, such great variety. And the hot yoga will help with running tightness and ward off injury. Can’t wait to see what’s next!

  2. Hi Sarah! We nominated you for the Sunshine Award! http://wp.me/p2Mtu8-av

  3. Nicole says:

    I’m training for my first race, the bluegrass half marathon at the end of may. So far my training is going well, I have a trainer helping me with weights and cross training.

Leave a Reply

Archives

February 2013
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728  

Pages

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 50 other followers

Disney World MarathonJanuary 13th, 2013
