Half Marathon Training: Week 2

2

February 10, 2013 by Sarah

This past week was a busy one – I celebrated my birthday on Tuesday and Mark spent most of the week in Florida for work. I tried to stick with my routine as much as possible. I was successful in getting my workouts in, but had no motivation to cook!

Here are my workouts and meals for week 2 of my half marathon training

Workouts
  • Monday: 30 minutes strength training, elliptical for 10 minutes
  • Tuesday: 3 mile birthday run in the snow! 29:02, 9:38 pace
  • Wednesday: 20 minutes strength training, bike for 15 minutes
  • Thursday: 4 miles on the treadmill; 37:25, 9:21pace
  • Friday: 30 minutes strength training
  • Saturday: 5 mile run; 49:40, 9:55 pace
  • Sunday: Rest Day!

Weekly mileage: 12 miles, Total Mileage: 23 miles

My meals were not super exciting this week. Since Mark was gone for most of the week, I ate a lot of stuff that was quick and easy to prepare. For whatever reason, I didn’t feel like cooking this week… so I didn’t! I’m looking forward to cooking more this week and was happy to have a break from cooking last week.

Meals
  • Monday: Pork stir fry
  • Tuesday: Turkey burger on a salad
  • Wednesday: Turkey sub with lots of veggies (from Subway)
  • Thursday: Turkey and ham sandwich (yes, essentially a repeat of Wednesday…)
  • Friday: Out to dinner for my birthday!
  • Saturday: Celebrating my birthday with a girl’s night!
  • Sunday: Pizza and salad

Can’t believe we are starting another week already!  I’m aiming for 15 miles next week and 3 days of strength training.  It should be a good week for workouts and hopefully I’ll have some great recipes/meal ideas to share as well.

Do you have days were you just don’t feel like cooking?  

I know a lot of you are training for upcoming races – how is your training going?

2 thoughts on “Half Marathon Training: Week 2

  1. Whine Less says:

    I don’t feel like cooking most days! I really thought as a I got older and had kids that would change. It has not.

  2. kelsierakay says:

    I love your blog! I started mine about 2 months ago based on my goal of running a thousand miles this year.

    Hope you check it out!
    Runningathousandmiles.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

Archives

February 2013
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728  

Pages

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 50 other followers

Disney World MarathonJanuary 13th, 2013
